Each commissioner, except the resident commissioner, is appointed to serve a five year term or to complete the term of the commissioner they have replaced. Their terms are staggered. A commissioner can be re-appointed for as many terms as the Mayor may desire. Our resident commissioner is also appointed by the Mayor of the City of Salem, NJ., and that person is appointed to serve for a one year term. If the resident commissioner should lose their housing assistance from the Housing Authority, they would then be replaced. The commissioners responsibilities include the hiring of the Executive Director, to set policy, and to review the operations of the authority.

Board of Commissioners Regular Board Meeting is held on the 4th Thursday of each month in the Community Room at Broadway Tower. The meetings are open to the public and begin at 5:00 PM.

Rebecca Gower Ferguson - Chairperson

Cathy Lanard - Commissioner

Shalonda Tomlin - Commissioner

Crystal Hallman - Commissioner

Tim Gregory - Commissioner 

Adam Telsey - Solicitor